Home > Bill Simmons, Interesting > Top 5 Movies of the 2000’s?

Top 5 Movies of the 2000’s?

We’ll segue from sports to movies. The other day I was listening to the B.S. Report, a podcast by Bill Simmons. It’s a very popular sports-centric podcast but he talks a lot about pop culture as well. Basically, he said that its 2009 and we don’t really think about it, but the decade is almost over. His question was simple. What are the top five movies of the last ten years? The criteria is excellence when it came out, rewatchability and originality.

So here’s the thing. I love movies. I watch a lot of movies. I think I could make a good list, but surely one that would evoke an argument. But I know for sure that I could come up with a better list than he did. He said number one would be Almost Famous. What a joke. He tried to shoehorn The Dark Knight in afterwards but his credibility was already dust in the wind. Here is my list(it took me ten minutes to get my Google search on)

The Dark Knight made more money in its opening weekend than the top 12 grossing movies did this year during the same weekend.

The Dark Knight made more money in its opening weekend than the top 12 grossing movies did this year during the same weekend.

1. The Dark Knight: The decade will be known as the Decade of the Superhero and there were some good ones and some awful ones, but The Dark Knight was far and away the best one. Heath Ledger’s death and excellent performance seal the deal.

2. Gladiator: The classic, “Hero suffers and gets the bad guy in the end” movie but done so well. If it’s on, you’re watching it plain and simple.

3.Lord of the Rings: Return of the King: Slipped from #2 because of the rewatchability and originality criteria(its a sequel, can’t be too original) and maybe its a lifetime achievement award type of deal for a great series of movies, but it defined the decade and if it wasn’t the  decade  of the hero, it most definitely was the decade of the epic movie. Peter Jackson must be hoping for even one-quarter of the success for his new project.

This thriller was about memory and the human mind

This thriller was about memory and the human mind

4. Memento: I channel Simmons here. Maybe it won’t make many top five movies but I remember watching this movie without pause on the DVR was like if the earliest humans watched a quick intructional video on how to make fire. So much was happening and I didn’t really get it until the end, but I loved it.

5. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind: This one was/is a favorite of the ladies. Don’t get me wrong, I liked it but I’m putting it here because it holds up really well and aces all of the criteria for making it a great movie. Romantic comedies always seem to do well but the right anti-romantic comedy really gets both guys and girls talking because they’re more real I guess.

Movies that just didn’t make the cut are Kill Bill 2, Collateral, Happy Feet, Wedding Crashers, and Crash. Comment, discuss, disagree. But don’t lob insults. Keep it PG.

(Make your own list at Toptenreviews.com)

Check out this video for a top 50 list complete with a serious tune!

A friend takes on the difficult task of his own, top five list.

  1. Movie Fanatic
    July 20, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I think this list is a decent one, nothing great. To begin with you need to get Dark Knight off you number 1 like right now….take it off! Gladiator good choice it was freaking awesome watched it more than necessary. What needs to be on you list is Identity, crazy film. Pulp Fiction, hello! and lets not forget vanilla sky which I had to watch repeatedly because I couldn’t get it.

  2. Loews
    July 20, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I agree…Dark Knight is NOT number one of this decade. Though definitely the top of this decade of superhero movies. Good job on having Gladiator and LOTR up there. Phenomenal works.

  3. kii?
    July 21, 2009 at 8:39 am

    disagree on dark knight. i disagreed with simmons when he said it, i disagree with you when you say it, i will argue against anyone else who claims it. however, i do commend you for trying to do this. i cannot say what the best movie of the decade is, since there were so many good ones, but i will say that bowling for columbine is definitely up there for me, mystic river is also amazing, memento remains underrated, city of god we liked a lot, and i also want to throw the wrestler and rocky 5 in there, with an honorable mention for rambo 4.

    btw, most OVERRATED movie of the decade? slumdog millionaire. not that it was bad, but it wasnt this century’s citizen kane. lets relax people.

  4. October 30, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    I have never seen the last two, but I loved the top three movies.

    I agree on Slumdog Millionaire. I was expecting a lot more from it.

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

  1. July 20, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

